In one of my previous posts, I mentioned the fact that two of my closest friends moved to Dublin a while ago. The first time I visited, the weather was so bad, we tried to stay indoor and in the centre as much as possible, but the second time, we set out for the Wicklow Mountains to get a good look at that beautiful Irish landscape.

DSC_9710.JPG

The Wicklow Mountains are just a 40min drive away from Dublin, and offer a real respite from the noise and bustle of the city. It extends over 20,000 hectares of mountain scenery, that really give you the feeling of being in the wilderness.

Although this is the perfect location to go hiking, we couldn’t do as much as we wanted to. The week before our departure to Ireland, I twisted my ankle. I was in a cast for about 6 days, and I had to walk with a cane for a month on doctors orders. Although that didn’t stop us to do a 5km hike in this beautiful place!

cane.jpg

More info about The Wicklow Mountains:

  • Visitor Centre Adress: Powerscourt Mountain, Laragh, Co. Wicklow
  • Opening Hours Visitor Centre: 08u00 – 17u00
  • In case of munchies after your hike: Try ‘The Wicklow Heather’, Glendalough Road, Ballard, Laragh, Co. Wicklow. Only 5 min away from the visitor centre.
